The Weekend Gamer
Thoughts on gaming culture, living among non-gamers, and growing up in the nintendo generation

Mike Capps: “Wii is A Virus”

I came across a quote today from the president of Epic studios that simply captured perfectly the feeling I and many other long time gamers feel about our Wii consoles:

The first time I played a videogame with my parents – aging myself a bit – was on Atari 2600. The next time I played a videogame with my parents, 25 years later or whatever, was Wii Tennis. So it’s about bringing people together, families, Thanksgiving, all that. I think it’s kind of like a weird virus because I have not yet found a reason to play with my Wii since then.

 Zelda I really didn’t enjoy on it. They back-fitted the control scheme on it, it was better on the GameCube. Mario, I wish there had been a button instead of wiggle and all that kind of ****. So I haven’t played anything that I really wished hadn’t been on another platform sadly enough. It’s a virus where you buy it and you play it with your friends and they’re like, ‘Oh my God that’s so cool, I’m gonna go buy it’.

So you stop playing it after two months, but they buy it and they stop playing it after two months but they’ve showed it to someone else who then goes out and buys it and so on. Everyone I know bought one and nobody turns it on. Obviously there’s a class of people who really love it and enjoy it and are getting into the games but I’m still waiting for that one game that makes me play it. Who knows, maybe Wii Fit will be it.

I was talking to two friends over the weekend who own Wiis, and brought up Mario Kart Wii–they both told me they’re probably not interested.  A third friend told me he wouldn’t be getting it and that he’s kind of cooled on the Wii in general since he first bought it.  The games he wants to play are on 360. 

The thing is though, that the Wii isn’t a fad, and it isn’t a trend.  When are these freaking sales going to stop?  I certainly don’t see an end in sight.  721,000 Wiis????  It’s just ridiculous, and is more than the combined sales of 360 and PS3.  It’s clear that the Wii is a gaming machine that’s not been made for me, but how many of us are actually playing it regularly? 

Maybe the bigger question is what will Nintendo do with a market share this huge?  Everyone is going to have one of these things in their home, and with an install base that big, you have an amazing launching point for software.  It’s an interesting time to be living in and playing games, that’s for sure.

–WG

8 Responses to “Mike Capps: “Wii is A Virus””

  1. since i was quoted in the post not much really else to say :p

  2. I think a big part of the picture that we’re not seeing is sales and longevity in other countries. In Japan, for instance, I haven’t heard that there is the same cooling phenomenon as there is in the US….to the contrary, 360’s reputedly aren’t very popular. (I have no source for this, aside from the hearsay of my friends living in Japan.)

  3. I agree with this to an extent. I (and most everyone else I know) have gone through a “cooling phase”. I have picked the wii-mote back up after picking up a used copy of excite truck.

    My thoughts on it are this: You have many more casual gamers picking up a wii. It serves their purposes well. They might play it once or twice a week and then maybe if some friends come over. It suits that purpose very well.

    I just don’t think the wii lends itself to long term gaming sessions (excluding perhaps virtual console games, but you have probably already played those once through anyhow). That is it’s curse and it’s blessing all at the same time. It doesn’t have long term appeal to the hard-core gamers but it works nicely for a non-gamer household.

  4. I have not played my Wii since I bought it the day it came out. I played it for a few months, but then I left for the military and have never played it since. Technically I dont have access to it, but I have to agree. I spoke to my brother and he said that he has not played it since the first set of batteries died in the controller. 🙂

    the wii virus.. interesting.

  5. We do know the sales worldwide in March–try over 2 million. It’s insane. I’m not saying it’s not a sales phenomenon, I’m saying how much playtime is it actually getting in people’s homes? For that we only have anecdotal evidence.

  6. funny how large the sales are but i know of no one personally that has one. Though you cant really compare the Wii to the PS3 if i was going to buy one it would be the PS3.

  7. We probably would have had it but with an altogether unused PS2 that I really begged for my birthday a couple years ago, and a pretty hefty price tag, we haven’t purchased yet. We’ve played it and my 5 year old LOVES it. My wife, who is not at all interested in gaming, is even talking about considering things. This is interesting and the thing that keeps coming to mind is this: doesn’t every new cool toy go through that phase? Even my really awesome KITT car I got when I turned 6 or 7 was neglected after a few weeks of constant play. It’s hard to look back and think that the ol’ 2600 cost about $300 and Pac-Man was $60!!
    -Timmy My Blog

  8. you were on the homepage in technology again


Leave a Reply

