The Weekend Gamer
Thoughts on gaming culture, living among non-gamers, and growing up in the nintendo generation

Happy Thanksgiving!

I unpacked Rock Band early yesterday morning. It was a freaking event. Even the cat got involved. Unfortunately, I left town before I could upload the pictures to the website. I’ll post them early next week as an aside I suppose.

I brought my 360 in to work with the whole Rock Band set up yesterday, and we got it going on in our brand new 650 seat worship center on the 58″ plasma. There were some synching issues with the plasma tv, but all in all it was certainly fun, and I’m looking forward to bringing it to a couple of future events.

I also brought it along to my folks house down in Baltimore, but they only have one t.v. anymore, and it’s a relatively small one in the living room. If the moment is right, I’ll pull it out for my cousins and we’ll rock as much as we can.

Apparently Mario Galaxy isn’t selling so well in Japan and the UK, but here in the US it sold 500k units in week one, which is the best showing in NA for any Mario game–ever. I’ve been assisting Dave through the game, and it’s been interesting seeing him build up his video gaming muscles. Last night he began perfecting the jump/spin combination, but some of the game mechanics are quite a challenge. It’s been fun though, and a team work experience that doesn’t usually come in a Mario game.

No posts tomorrow, but I’ll try to post something on Black Friday. I’m thinking about braving the crowds (no reason really, I’m just insane), how about you?

–WG

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. Oh, man, Rock Band. I almost forgot. I’m sitting in a hotel in Australia, looking out towards the Great Barrier Reef, and I’m still jealous that I can’t be playing Rock Band this weekend. Oh, well. I’ll be home in a week or so and I suspect Amazon will have my box waiting for me.

    Cheers, mate.

  2. enjoy your time down under Arlo. RB will be waiting. Let me know how the PS3 version holds up!


Leave a Reply

